Wk 5 – Art Activity – Graffiti Writing

I really enjoyed this weeks art activity which was graffiti writing. This is my first time using spray paint and it was really fun. I was not able to go to Venice Beach this week, but I was able to get together with some of my friends from class to share paints, and help each other out. We weren’t able to paint directly on the wall so we used some cardboard we found and it worked pretty well. At first I was a little hesitant to start because I haven’t used spray paint before and didn’t want to mess up but once I got started it was really nice. I also learned how easy it is to cover imperfections or mistakes you make on your first pass by adding more paint. Actually painting with spray paint makes it easier to understand why other people like it and why they do it regularly. It feels good to be able to make a statement or in this case a name, bright and visible.

Overall I enjoyed this activity not only because of the art but also because of the connection you make to the entire art style and the people that do it. In the future I would love to go to Venice Beach and try graffiti art there and hopefully bring friends along to learn and enjoy the experience.

Leave a Reply

